Destiny Herndon-DeLaRosa

Lucky Me

In Uncategorized on August 27, 2014 at 8:52 pm

As I sit here in my beautiful home, healthy kids fast asleep, candles lit, listening to music, I can’t help but feel so incredibly grateful. I have so much. I have so much more than so many. I want to shout from the rooftops how #blessed I am, but lately that’s been harder and harder to do. I feel like it would imply I did something to earn all of this; that I somehow pleased God by living a better life than most and that I deserve it. I know that’s simply not true. There are very good- no- way BETTER people than me out there, with much, much less. There are people so much more dedicated, giving everything, humans living so much more impactful lives, individuals far worthier of God’s blessings, who are suffering in ways I cannot even fathom. And I feel like calling myself anything more than “lucky” would be an insult to them…

Growing up I was taught never to chalk it up to luck, it was always “a blessing.” Then recently something changed. Does anyone else ever feel like that? Like calling yourself “blessed” is a bad thing?

Tell me about it…

Leave a Reply

