Destiny Herndon-DeLaRosa

A Derekless Decade

In Uncategorized on September 12, 2014 at 4:07 pm

DestAndDerek

This picture was taken at my great grandmother’s funeral. We called her “Gogi,” but her real name was Edna. She went by “Eddie” to all her friends and she was my favorite. She was quick and witty, and a real ball buster. I’d visit her at least once a year, and in between those times we’d write letters back and forth. When she passed, even though it was expected, I was devastated. She was the first person I’d ever lost that I was truly close to.

I was afraid to go into the room for her viewing. I didn’t know if I wanted to see her that way… remember her that way. Derek stayed outside with me, handing me tissues and silently judging my theatrics. As we sat there while I tried to regain my composure, a funeral director walked by, and I remember this conversation taking place…

Me: “What are you looking at?”

Derek: “Just that guy… can you even imagine?”

Me: “Imagine what?”

Derek: “Working in a place where you’re surrounded by dead bodies all day long… poor… defenseless… dead bodies…”

*An evil grin stretched across his face*

Me: “Are you seriously making necrophiliac jokes at our great grandmother’s funeral?”

Derek: “Yes, yes I am.”

We both broke out in laughter and I was finally myself enough to go in and say goodbye to Gogi with Derek by my side. He always knew how to bring everything back into perspective. Today marks 10 years since Derek died, and I have to say I think his sense of humor is what I miss the most. He and Gogi always had that in common.

People often tell me that they don’t remember me being particularly funny in high school, and that’s because I wasn’t. I honestly believe I inherited this twistedness from Derek. I can only assume God wouldn’t let him into heaven with it, so he dropped it down on me.

It’s hard to imagine he and Gogi up there, all prim and proper, making tasteful jokes. When I finally go and we’re reunited at last, I’ll make sure to smuggle our sense of humor in with me. Because after all, if anybody’s earned the right to laugh at necrophilia jokes, it’s the dead.

Leave a Reply

