Destiny Herndon-DeLaRosa

Thunderstorms

In Uncategorized on April 28, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 5.14.27 PMBefore Eddie went to sleep tonight she folded a blanket and put it next to her bed. As I was tucking her in she whispered in my ear that if it started to rain I should wake her up and we could sit in the garage and watch it together wrapped up in that blanket.

I told her we’d see, but I’d probably be asleep by then too, so it was doubtful.

Then I waited.

And I waited.

There’s been so much lightening but still NO RAIN.

I set up chairs, taunting it to come. There was a loud boom. I put hot chocolate on the stove thinking that would do the trick. A crackle ripped across the sky.

For the last three hours it’s sounded like a freakin’ Pandora thunderstorm station, but still not a drop. Not one.

I need sleep y’all. But Eddie needs memories of cuddling in rainstorms with her mama more, so I’ll stay awake.

Pray for rain. Do a little dance if ya got one. Turn a hose on my house, whatever it takes! All efforts towards us sitting in my cluttered old garage, listening to the pitter patter of rain drops while sipping hot chocolate in the middle of the night will be greatly appreciated.

For now, I’ll sit and wait though… while Eddie sleeps.

Leave a comment